Hey Barb! (part of “Bring him to justice”)

You don’t mind if I call you Barb, do you?

This is about the three comments you posted on “Bring him to justice – CAPTURED!” last night.  Before I start, just so you know, I began writing about the charges against, and the search for, George Flowers on August 14, 2012 and the piece you commented on was written June 11, 2013, so my question is “Where have you been hiding for the past two-and-a-half years?”

Now, your comments.  First, this one:
Barbara
10 minutes ago
You know nothing and this blog is discrediting his reputation as any logical person would know they have to prove that he gave it them and that can not be proven so… , your friends were so quick to bus it open and now that have something you want to call him a monster no one told you to have sex , he is no monster he made mistakes and will get the proper punishment most of these woman are just spiteful that they were fucked and dumped , watch what you say about a man that you know nothing about watch what you say about a man that you know nothing about

This is so full of inaccuracies, probably including your name, I don’t know where to start.  To use your own words, “any logical person would know” the Toronto Police Service must feel they have sufficient evidence to lay those charges.  “He is no monster he made mistakes”.  That must be some great ganja you’ve got.  The Oxford Dictionary describes a mistake as “an error in judgement”, among other things.  That for fifteen years he failed to tell any of his partners he was HIV positive takes his actions far beyond the “mistake” range and puts him squarely into monster territory.  Another inaccuracy (don’t worry, I’m almost done) is your “fucked and dumped” comment.  At least two women I know did the dumping, not him, which is the complete opposite of your claim.  Finally, in what moment  of clairvoyant clarity did you determine I know nothing about the man.  I’ve met him and spent time in his company.  I know he’s married and has kids and I even know his wife’s name.  I also know that rather than cross the street to hear him perform, I’d cross the street to avoid hearing him.   By the way, out of curiosity, should I consider your “watch what you say about a man that you know nothing about” a threat?

Now, your second message:
Barbara
9 minutes ago
where are you getting your information

Sorry Barb, like any respectable journalist, I won’t reveal my sources.

And, your final message:
Barbara
8 minutes ago
lastly if he is found guilty he will get less than 10 years and then be free now tell me would you be scared of a man you just convicted

No, I wouldn’t be scared.  Actually, if it were up to me, I’d have charged him with attempted murder, not aggravated sexual assault, and if any of his victims have passed on, I’d charge him with first degree murder.  Yes, first degree, because he made a conscious decision not to reveal his status.  And Barb, consider this: People convicted of the crimes he is charged with, especially if they are HIV positive, are not among the elite in the prison hierarchy.  He can expect to have a very rough time in prison.  Things happen in prisons so he may not make it through that sentence.

I hope I answered your questions and concerns.

Cat

4 thoughts on “Hey Barb! (part of “Bring him to justice”)

  1. Well expressed,Cat, and right on the nose, per usual. Never ceases to amaze me how people can do their best to justify and sweep aside such blatant conduct by this man, but it goes to show just how much a person — such as this ‘Barb’ — can be taken in. You are a fine journalist, Cat, and your ongoing devotion to the field and all it entails is most commendable. Keep up the fine work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

