Nice try

My email brought me the following early this afternoon:

iTunes <iTunes@websitewelcome.com>

Identity verification required

Dear Customer ,

You have received this email because our system has noticed some unusual activity under your Apple ID account.

We have taken steps to ensure nothing can be purchased until you have confirmed your identity.

Please take a moment to confirm it using the link below.
< Click Here

Thanks,
Apple Customer Support
TM and copyright © 2014 Apple Inc. 1 Infinite Loop, MS 96-DM, Cupertino, CA 95014.

Sounds serious, doesn’t it? I can’t speak for you, but when I see something like this, one of the first things I do is check my credit card statement to see if there has indeed been any unusual activity involving the company telling me I’ve been cut off. Since I haven’t bought anything from iTunes in months, any purchases would show up immediately and I’d be on the phone to the credit card company. Nothing. The only purchase in the last week was the incense I bought yesterday.

This showed as being sent “to me”, which is quite common for gmail I’ve found. But there is a little arrow that allows you to see more information. Clicked on the arrow and found something very interesting. It wasn’t sent from iTunes or Apple. Oh no. Here’s what the detailed information showed me:

from: iTunes <iTunes@websitewelcome

to: gcathoward@
cc: iTunes@websitewelcome.com
date: 2 May 2014 12:05
subject: Your Apple ID Has Been Temporarily Restricted
mailed-by: subaru.websitewelcome

Since WordPress’s robots consider any posting with too many links to be spam and blocks your account (I had it happen last year) I’ve removed the extensions on the addresses, but they were both “.com” and I removed the balance of my address for the same reason.

I’m working on only my second coffee of the day so perhaps my brain isn’t fully functioning yet, but am I the only one who finds it suspicious that a message purportedly sent by iTunes is actually being sent by Subaru? I suspect that had I actually clicked on the link I would have provided Subaru with all kinds of information that would have resulted in all kinds of promotional information being sent to me.

Not that I have anything against Subaru. We had a new sedan back in 1983 and I loved it. And truth be told, I’d love to have a new WRX Sti, but that ain’t gonna happen. Besides, there’s something about a 70 year old woman flying around in Subaru’s nastiest offering that puts people off.

If you receive a similar email apparently from iTunes, before you do anything, check your credit card statement. And when you find there is nothing unusual, delete the email. DO NOT, under any circumstances, click on the link.

Enjoy your day and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

