They’re back

On September 9, 2012, I wrote a blog about China Shenhua Energy and their “contest” in which I won a 2012 3-series BMW (value$42,505 – same as this year) and one-and-a-half million US. I keep copies of these emails and the resultant blogs just so I can refer back to them, as in this case.

Today’s spam contained another email from them. This time the extension on the sender’s name showed “ru”, which is Russia. Seems a little odd for a Chinese company wouldn’t you say? There are a few things which stand out in today’s email. They’ve upgraded to a 2013 BMW for one thing.

Amazingly, the number they ask me to quote in my reply is the exact same number they used eighteen months ago. Does that mean I’m going to get a 2012 3-series? Still in the body of the bill, they ask me to contact Doctor Francis Chen. In the previous message, they gave me a London address. This time, while it asks me to contact Dr Chen, the contact information is for Dr Fred Chang, in New Delhi, India. Sloppy editing on their part obviously.

What takes this message from being just plain annoying to hilarious is the note they’ve added to the end of the email. Here it is in its entirety: * NOTE* : If you find this mail in your spam or junk folder, it is due to the service of your internet provider. Wrong. It’s in my spam folder because that is where the gmail filter put it. It has nothing to do with my internet provider.

If you receive this email, don’t give them any information. You aren’t going to get a BMW and 1.5 million. All you’re going to get is a lot of grief because you’ve provided them with enough information for them to set up a phony identity.

The same spam also contained a message from someone purporting to be Fedex telling me they were holding a package containing a bank draft for $750,000 US and if I send then $120 they’ll send it to me. I’ll get right on that.

Not a bad haul for a quiet Wednesday. Both emails, including the value of the car, mean that I’ve picked up about 2.3 million, more if I convert it to Canadian funds, before lunch. Maybe I can conquer the world. But first, I need coffee.

Enjoy your day and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

2 thoughts on “They’re back

Leave a Reply

