You never got beyond the picture

This morning I received a notification in my email that there was a message for me on MySpace.  You do remember MySpace don’t you?  The social network until they tried to fix what wasn’t broken and drove all the artists and writers to other sites; and before Justin Timberlake tried to turn it into a music site?  Yeah, that MySpace.  Actually the only reason I still have an account is that, despite having tried on at least three occasions, MySpace won’t let me delete it.  I tend to ignore it unless it is to delete friend requests and messages.

This was the message I was told of this morning:

Morris says

Hello ,
    How are you doing ? Hope all good ..
I am so sorry if i have intrude to your privacy ..
I am actually new on the  site ..
Just browsing through i saw your profile  ..I viewed and read through your profile already  ..
 I will love to know more about you , hope you don’t mind ..huh !!
Telling you little about me –
I am a father of a 5yrs old boy ( Luis ) … i consider myself caring , loving , honest , loyal , calm
and flexible in heart , with good heart and sense of humor ..this is just little about me ..okay ..
  I wait to read back from you ..alright ..and hope for a chat with you ..
You can live me your mail address or just write to mine..okay ..ms.erickson@yahoo.com
Take care now and have a great day …
    Morris…

Doesn’t sound too bad until you read the following, which is in a section on my profile titled “about me”. Then you understand why I chose that particular title for this posting.

If you wish to contact me personally, I will only do so through the MySpace messaging facility. Please DO NOT ask for my personal e-mail address, IM address or telephone number, or give me yours, because I will delete your message. If I consider your message offensive, or especially dumb, I will write a blog about it and help you make yourself look foolish – and yes, I’ll include your MySpace profile name. If you present me with what is obviously a scam, not only will I post a blog about it, I will report it to MySpace and the appropriate authorities.

I added the bold to this excerpt.  Seems pretty straightforward doesn’t it?  Very easy to understand?  I thought so.  So why on earth would this man give me his email address?  The answer must be that he never got beyond the name and “interesting” profile photo.  One more thing.  Had he truly read my profile, he’d have noticed a little section headed “Details” wherein I mention that I’m a lesbian.

So Morris, everything I’ll willing to share is on my profile and oh yes, here’s the blog I said I’d write.  And just to make sure he reads it, I’ll respond to his message with a link to this.

To my followers and readers, enjoy your day and remember to hug an artist – we need love (and honesty) too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

