Parental guidance?

As parents, we constantly told, or still tell, our children not to put things they find on the ground in their mouth.  You know – “don’t eat that, you don’t know where it’s been”.  It is that instruction drummed into us as children and repeated to our own children that makes a current commercial for Ensure that much more unbelievable.  Here’s the scene: a man is playing soccer with his son.  At one point junior kicks the ball over the net and dad goes to retrieve it.  While he is behind the net a bottle of Ensure rolls down the hill and hits his foot.  What does dad do?  Ignore it?  Don’t be silly.  He picks it up, opens it and drinks it!  I can only suggest dad ascribes to the “do as I say, not as I do” school in dealings with his son.  Once again advertisers are asking us to accept illogical commercials.

One of my pet peeves is people who don’t pick up their feet when they walk.  What prompts this part of the posting is that I was out today and there was a lady on the other side of the street and I could clearly her scuffing her feet as she walked.  Are these people afraid that if they lose contact with the earth they will float away?  Ain’t gonna happen people.  Shoe retailers and shoe repair shops must love people like that because they destroy the soles of their footwear so quickly. When I was young, I was always told to pick up my feet when I walked, so I can’t envision any parent telling their children to do otherwise.  I know we all develop bad habits as we age – I have some and resist attempts to get me to change them – but shuffling rather than walking seems more like laziness than anything else.  But then again, laziness is a bad habit too.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

3 thoughts on “Parental guidance?

  1. I am hearing but my son is Deaf and he goes to a Deaf school. One of my fondest memories of visiting there was on the occasion that I was part of the crowd as the entire school filed out of the gym. Because there was no talking (everyone was signing to one another) the only sound was that of shoes scuffling on the floor. EVERYONE was doing it – most deafness is hereditary, so none of the other parents had ever bothered telling their kids to pick up their feet. I’ve often wondered since then whether Deaf people go through shoes faster…
    🙂 Thanks for bringing back that memory

    Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever told my kids to do either – pick up their feet or not eat stuff off the ground! Except for cigarette butts. I draw the line at them. I now have two successful teenagers so it can’t have been too bad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

