More commercial comments

Last night I noticed two commercials that caught my attention.  And, if you’re a regular reader, you know that doesn’t usually bode well for the commercials.

The first is for something called “Wonga.com” which, according to the ad, is a British company specializing in short term loans and has apparently just opened a Canadian operation.  First of all,  I feel  the commercials themselves talk down to the viewer.  But what prompts this is that in this spot they show an example.  They use the amount of $300 for a period of 14 days.  According to the display, that would cost the borrower $30.  Excuse me – ten percent for 2 weeks.  Now, I readily admit math was never one of my better subjects at various levels of schooling, but even I can figure out that would be 26% on an annual rate.  Isn’t that approaching the threshold of usury?  Just asking.

The other commercial is for Frito-Lays Canada.  They are currently running a contest for people to create a new chip flavour.  Considering I only like plain potato chips, I’m not submitting an entry.  The prize for the winner is $50,000 and one percent of the sales of the chosen flavour.  Sounds great, but I do have one question: 1% of sales for how long? – a week; a month; a year, or in perpetuity?   Just asking.

One more item.  This isn’t a commercial, but an item I noticed today on the website for The Toronto Star.  Apparently Facebook is bringing out a revised newsfeed.  Whoopee!  I don’t really care about that.  My quarrel with the newsfeed – and probably something that won’t be corrected with this new version is this: presently users are given a choice on the newsfeed of “top stories” or “most recent” with “top stories” being the default.  I always change it to “most recent”, for how can Facebook possibly know what I would consider a “top story”?  This usually lasts about a week then it changes back to “top story”.  If Facebook really wanted to do something, they’d fix it so that if someone chooses “most recent” as their default, it stays that way until the user changes it.

Okay.  I’ve vented and I feel much better now.  Enjoy your week and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

