Stick to the topic

On January 17 I wrote a tongue-in-cheek piece called “Am I really Canadian?” about the fact I don’t like either hockey or Tim Hortons’ coffee.  That elicited one comment from a person who missed the humour, even though the article was both tagged and labelled “humour”.

This morning the following, intended as a comment on that posting, was in my WordPress spam:

tiffanyrunyan@
Submitted on 2013/01/29 at 12:44 am

I believe that is one of the so much important info for me.

And i am happy reading your article. However wanna observation on few general things, The site style is perfect,
the articles is really great : D. Excellent process,
cheers

I have removed the advertising site as well as part of the address and IP address to protect the ignorant.

First, the opening comment has no bearing whatsoever on the subject matter of the posting.  And, had this been written in anything remotely approaching proper English, I might have accepted the rest of the compliments.

“The site style is perfect” . I’m sure WordPress will be pleased to know someone other than me likes the format they call “2011″.

“Excellent process”.  I would hardly call a humourous piece taking a swipe at Canadian stereotypes an excellent process.

Despite the very WASPy sounding name, Tiffany Runyan, I suspect this was written in some other language and run through something like Google Translate. Either that or Tiffany never went to school.

That is the problem when people use spambots.  They frequently post comments that are totally inappropriate to the subject of the posting.  But, they do give writers like me something else to write about.

Enjoy your week and remember to hug an artist – we need love (and proper grammar) too.

Cat.

One thought on “Stick to the topic

Leave a Reply

