This is a fake

I was away early yesterday morning and didn’t check my mail before I left.  When I got home, I was too tired to care, so it wasn’t until about 20 minutes ago I got around to checking the mail and spam.  I found the following in my gmail spam:

service@gmail <postmaster@deneme.com>
    
9 Dec (2 days ago)
        
to undisclosed recipients

Gmail Today

Dear Gmail Member,

For continuity, you are required to validate your account immediately.
* Username: ……………………………….
* Password: ………………………………..
* Date of Birth: ……………………………
* Country Or Territory: …………………

Warning: Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two days of receiving this warning stands the risk of loosing his or her account permanently.

Regards,

© 2012  Gmail Inc. All Rights Reserved | My Account
Now that this is a fake is obvious for several reasons, the most obvious being that it has been more than 48 hours since this was sent and I still have access to the account.  Other telltales are that once again it was sent to “undisclosed recipients”.  Sure sign it’s a scam or phishing.  I also find it interesting that although I have separate accounts for my various businesses, only my personal account received this message.

Do the people who send these things out really believe we’re as dumb as they hope we are?  If so, I’m terribly insulted.  Look at this logically.  If this were, as it purports, truly from gmail, why on earth would it be sent from the address “deneme.com” rather than gmail itself?  Guess they didn’t think anyone would notice.   Notice too that they are asking for much more information than I had to provide when I opened the account.

So, although I’m technically beyond the two days they mention, I’m not the least bit worried about “loosing” my account.

Once again dear followers and readers, if you get this, you won’t lose access to your account and all you’ll do is give them enough information to hijack your account.  Delete the message (not this posting).

Enjoy your day and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

