I am not your “dear”

In addition to the gmail phishing message, I found the following in my spam today:

Mr Richard Best <richardbest1685@myfastbox.it>
    
07:19 (6 hours ago)
        
to undisclosed recipients
Greetings my dear,

How are you?

I am delighted to inform you about my success in getting the funds transferred under the cooperation of a new partner from
Paraguay. I am grateful to God. Presently I’m in Paraguay for investment-projects; I did not forget your past efforts and
attempts to assist me in transferring the funds,despite your inability to finance the transaction. Now contact my secretary
in Accra Ghana, his name is Mr.Clement Awauh, through this e-mail address ( clementawauh@zing.vn ) and ask him to
send the total of $950.000.00 which I kept for your compensation for all the past efforts and attempts to assist me in this
matter.
 
I appreciated your efforts at that time very much, so feel free and get in-touch with Mr. Clement Awauh and discuss with him
how to send the money to you.
 
Remember that I had forwarded instruction to my secretary on your behalf, so feel free and get in touch
with him,he will release the amount to you without any delay.

Regards,

Richard Best.

This was the second message.  The first was sent three minutes earlier and reads exactly the same.  Do you think he really means it since he felt the need to tell me twice?

Again, “undisclosed recipients” is a good sign it’s a scam or phishing expedition.  I can only imagine the information this “secretary” would require prior to “releasing the funds”.  DON’T DO IT!!

Just for my own curiosity, about two years ago, I started keeping a folder of all these scam messages I receive and I also put a copy of my posting in that folder as well.  As a result of doing so, I am aware that once before someone used the excuse they were in Paraguay on a business deal, but the name wasn’t Richard Best.

Notice that although “Richard” claims his secretary is in Ghana, the secretary’s email address ends in “vn”, which is Vietnam.  And Richard’s address is in Italy. I realize it is possible to get an email address in places other than the country of your residence, but it seems more than a little suspicious to me.  But then again, I am always cynical when I get these offers of money.

Once again, don’t fall for it.   If you don’t remember any previous contact with this man, it’s a fraud.  And if he feels he can call you “my dear”, why didn’t he send the email directly to you.

“Richard”, I am not now, nor have ever been, or will be, your dear.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

