Call me cold-hearted

The following was in my gmail spam when I checked it on Sunday night:

Sonia Wilson <bulgarisr@aol.com>
    
12:30 (11 hours ago)
        
to undisclosed recipients
I AM MRS. SONIA WILSON, A DEAF WIDOW TO LATE ROBERT WILSON FROM SEATTLE
WASHINGTON,USA. PRESENTLY IN ISRAEL RECEIVING TREATMENTS, I AM 61 YEARS
OLD, I AM NOW A NEW CHRISTIAN  CONVERT, SUFFERING FROM LONG TIME CANCER OF
THE  BREAST,FROM ALL INDICATION MY CONDITIONS IS REALLY DETERIORATING AND IT
IS QUITE  OBVIOUS THAT I WON’T LIVE MORE THAN SIX MONTHS, ACCORDING TO MY
DOCTORS,THIS IS  BECAUSE THE CANCER STAGE HAS GOTTEN TO A VERY BAD STAGE. MY
LATE HUSBAND WAS  KILLED DURING THE U.S. RAID AGAINST TERRORISM IN
AFGHANISTAN, AND DURING THE  PERIOD OF OUR MARRIAGE WE WERE UNABLE TO
PRODUCE A CHILD.

AFTER HIS DEATH, I INHERITED ALL HIS BUSINESS AND WEALTH. THE DOCTORS HAS
ADVISED ME THAT I MAY NOT LIVE FOR MORE THAN SIX MONTHS, SO I NOW DECIDED TO
DIVIDE THE PART OF THIS WEALTH, TO DONATE TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE CHURCH
IN  AFRICA, AMERICA ASIA, AND EUROPE. I PRAYED OVER IT, I AM WILLING TO GIVE
THE $8.6MILLION DOLLARS, TO THE LESS PRIVILEGED. RIGHT THE THE FUND IS
DEPOSITED WITH A SECURITY COMPANY IN USA. I AM OF AWARE THAT THERE ARE LOTS
OF SCAM IN INTERNET, I  SWEAR TO YOU WITH THE NAME OF OUR LORD THAT THIS IS
NEVER A SCAM.YOUR HELP WILL  SAFE MANY LIFE IN THE WORLD, LET GOD TOUCH YOUR
HEART TO HEAR MY CRY.

LASTLY, I ALSO WANT YOU TO ASSURE ME THAT WHEN YOU RECEIVE THE FUND IT WILL
BE  USED FOR THE SAID PURPOSE.  MAY THE GRACE OF OUR LORD JESUS THE LOVE OF
GOD AND  THE FELLOWSHIP OF GOD BE WITH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY I AWAIT URGENT
REPLY.

YOUR’S IN CHRIST.

MRS. SONIA WILSON

Once again, the first indicator that, despite “Sonia Wilson” swearing this is not a scam, the fact it is sent to “undisclosed recipients” tells me she’s taken the name of the Lord in vain for “undisclosed recipients” is a sure sign it is a scam.

This message attempts to push all the right buttons
– she’s a widow
– her husband was killed in Afghanistan (appealing to patriotism here)
– she’s deaf
– she’s got advanced cancer and only six months to live
– she’s childless
– the amount of 8.6 mil is certain to attract attention.

But, as I said in the title, call me cold-hearted, for I don’t believe a single word of it.  She claims to be a new convert to Christianity, so why wouldn’t she just leave it to her church to use for the stated purposes?  As I said, I’m not buying her story. Perhaps if it hadn’t been typed all in capitals and used proper spelling, punctuation and grammar she may have a better chance of someone falling for it.

The only response this plea deserves is for those “undisclosed recipients” to hit “delete”.  But we all know that there will be people out there who will jump at the thoughts of getting their hands on that money. And of course they won’t even consider its intended purposes.

Enjoy your week and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Call me cold-hearted

    • I suspect it’s a case of greed overcoming common sense in most cases. With some of the “lottery” scams, it could be that some people convince themselves they’ve won a lottery they forgot they entered, especially older people.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

  1. Being too “cold-hearted” to fall for a scam is no vice in my eyes! 🙂

    As the previous commenter I am amazed that anyone falls for these scams, but the best proof that somebody does is that they keep arriving in your inbox. If nobody fell for it, the scammers would stop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

