“Dear webmail subscriber”

The following email was in my gmail inbox this morning:

Dear WebMail Subscriber
Customer service mbigatti@pami.org.ar
03:48 (8 hours ago)
to undisclosed recipients
Account Warning

This mail is from  Administrator; we wish to bring to your notice the Condition of your email account.
We have just noticed that you have exceeded your email Database limit of 500 MB quota and your email IP is causing conflict because it is been accessed in different

server location. You need to Upgrade and expandyour webmail quota limit before you can continue to use your email.
Update your email quota limit to 2.6 GB, use the below web link:
Failure to do so could result in permanent deactivation of your user account from our database so we can create more spaces for new users and also reduce spam input.Confirmation webmail account
Full name:**********
Email address:******
Email Password:*********
Failure to do this will result to email deactivation within 24hours
Thank you for your understanding.
Copyright ©2012 Help Desk Technical Support Centre.

Again, the first tipoff this is not a legitimate message is the “undisclosed recipients”.

Let’s look at this a little closer.  First, as I said, this was in my gmail account so why on earth would any message related to it come from some firm in Argentina (.ar is Argentina) when Google is based in the US.  Second, I would expect any message from Google to be in decent English, not this mishmash.

Notice the information they ask for: full name; email address and email password.  First off, why would they need my email address when they contacted me?  Shouldn’t they have it already?  Giving them this information is doing nothing more than allowing them to hijack your email account..  DON’T DO IT!!  By the way, despite their comment “use the below web link”, there were no hot links in the message.

Think about it for a moment.  Chances are that we here in North America use an email provider that is based in North America, so the odds of them sending their users a message from a foreign country are pretty much non-existent.  So, please, if you see something like this and it doesn’t show the sender as Google,or Hotmail or whoever you use, just delete it.  Unless of course you’re like me and use this stuff as source material for blogs.  In that case, copy it, then delete the original.

Enjoy your day and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.



Nov 27.  Today I received another email from this same address purporting to be from Western Union, tellinng me they were holding a quarter million from me.

5 thoughts on ““Dear webmail subscriber”

  1. ….I received the same email also, I asked them to identify themselves and explain their interrest in mt email……no reply so far…..cheers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.