I can’t do that

One of the main bits of information given to those who would write blogs is “pick a subject and write about that.  If you choose, say, writing, then write about the various aspects of writing. If you pick photography, then use your site to explore that world.  Travel, food, whatever subject you decide upon should be the focus of most, if not all, your postings.”

Sounds like good, solid advice.  Too bad I don’t follow it.  If you follow or read my postings, you’ve noticed I write about anything and everything that catches my eye.  That is why you’ll find an essay on friends amid postings on scams (“More money I won’t get”) or the latest antics of Toronto’s sometime mayor (“Football first”) or ripping into some of the spam I find (“Look who’s talking”).

Do I have the knowledge and experience to write on a single topic?  Probably. I’ve written before on blogging (“Our words are powerful”) but my mind doesn’t work in a manner that allows me to focus solely on one topic. I’m interested in the world at large and when something in the news provokes a response, I act on it.  Granted there are some subjects that are closer to my heart than others, but I won’t write about them exclusively.

For example, since August, I’ve written a series of posts under the main title “Bring him to justice”.  This series deals with the Toronto Police search for one George Flowers, aka “Mr Flowas”, a wannabe rapper who is wanted for aggravated sexual assault.  This “thing” was diagnosed HIV positive in 1996 but never told any of his partners. I know people who dated him and some have since tested positive, so I have a personal interest in seeing this garbage off the streets.  But that series is as close as I’ve come to a single topic.  And the reason there haven’t been any recent postings under that title is that there is no concrete news to write about and I won’t put up rumours.  As it states in my public profile, I’m transgendered.  There are already enough people out there writing blogs on the LGBT community, so I doubt I could add anything of import.  I have written on those issues, but only from a personal perspective, where something will or does affect me personally.

So, having said all this, I repeat, that is good advice – pick a subject in which you have knowledge and write about it.  But, I can’t do that.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and remember to hug an artist – we need love too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

