Don’t do me any favours

Found the following in my WordPress spam today:

Submitted on 2012/11/03 at 4:46 pm

Hi there you have a fantastic site over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting information for us! If you keep up the good work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

This was intended for my posting “Politics for the uninterested”, so I doubt the information was really that interesting.  I do however agree that it is a fantastic site.  Then we come to that third sentence.

“If you keep up the good work I’ll visit your website again.”  Excuse me.  Are you hinting that the particular piece you tried spamming is the only “good” piece I’ve done? Personally, I think that while it was good (otherwise I wouldn’t have posted it) it was far from my best work.  For that you have to look at the “Bring him to justice” series.  And is that statement  a threat or a promise?  And one more question for you: unless you keep visiting, how will you know if I’m keeping up “the good work”?  Still more questions: By what standards are you judging my writing?  What are your qualifications to judge my work, after all, the email address this was sent from was “sexdatex.nl”, which hardly speaks of being the kind of site where words of more than four letters would be used. One piece of advice – don’t think you’d be doing me any favours by visiting the site again. In fact, the best favour would be to completely ignore me if your attitude is “if you keep up the good work”.

Okay, I’ve ranted now and I feel better.

Cat.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.