Glad I don’t live there

In my posting of earlier today, “They can’t be serious”, I talk about a Toronto District School Board study into launching a “queer-centric” school, a school where LGBT staff and students can feel safe.

Shortly after posting that, I came across the following article in today’s online Toronto Sun:  http://www.torontosun.com/2012/09/24/warmington-serious-gender-bender.

I am really glad that I one, don’t have children in the Toronto School system; and two, don’t live in Toronto.  What on earth are the people on the Toronto District School Board thinking?  Or are they?

What message are these educators trying to send to children?  The school years are times when children are very susceptible to ideas.  These posters could, in fact I’m almost tempted to say would, influence some children in ways their parents wouldn’t want them influenced.  I like the quote from an advertising manager the columnist spoke with “We have to get the educator’s heads out of the underpants and start looking toward the moon again, and beyond”.

Who are these people on the School Board?   Where are they getting their ideas from?  The messages contained in these postings belong in high school – but not until grade 11 – not in public schools.  Grade school children don’t need to be told cross-dressing is fine, or that it’s all right to be in a same sex relationship.

And before you think I’m just some prude hiding behind a keyboard, I’m transsexual.  Big  deal.  I also have red hair.  Again, big deal.  And my friends love me just as I am.

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Glad I don’t live there

  1. I don’t think it’s possible to recruit someone to be gay or straight or whatever. I’m straight and it’s not a choice. I’m just sexually attracted to females. I can’t wake up in the morning and ‘decide’ to be a homosexual.

    That being said, there are a lot of bias issues against the LGBT community and that’s probably what they’re targeting. I don’t think it needs to be done in grade school. Leading by example (not putting down people who don’t share the same sexual orientation) is the way to go. They should be learning how to read, write and do simple mathematics at this point.

    That’s my two cents.

    Like

    • Ontario has just legislated Gay-Straight Alliances in schools, which not only offer a safe haven for LGBT students, but also a place where others can safely ask questions. Therefore I think the Toronto District School Board would just be duplicating efforts on a grander scale.

      As for the posters in grade school – no! The school board hasn’t really thought this through because they apparently haven’t considered these posters may run contrary to the students’ parents’ own views on the subjects. I realize the term “co-parent” is being tossed around by schools these days, with the implied meaning that the school is as much a parent as the real parents. Again – no! the schools are educators, not parents and things like this poster campaign go far beyond what subjects should be taught in elementary school.

      Like

Leave a Reply

