Just a bit off-topic

For a writer like me, who writes about whatever catches my interest, spam folders can be a goldmine. I found the following in my WordPress spam folder this morning:

good articles
Zaiss289@o2.pl
37.203.214.144    
Submitted on 2012/09/21 at 5:33 am

Thanks, I’ve just been looking for information about this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have found out so far. But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain about the supply?

Sounds like a great comment doesn’t it?

First of all, this was sent from Poland, as shown by the “.pl” extension. In recent months there has been a great increase is scams, spam and phishing expeditions from that part of Europe.  Therefore the “.pl” raises my shields automatically.    Obviously this was written by someone who speaks English, as opposed to some others I’ve received which appeared to have been written in Polish, then run through a translation programme, such as Google Translate.  Oh, the words were all there, but the order was so convoluted, the message made no sense at all.

Now, let’s examine the content. “Thanks, I’ve just been looking for information about this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have found out so far.”  Flatterer.  You know, this might have been a great comment and worth moving from spam to comments except for one little detail.  The posting this was intended as a comment on was “WordsupPressed”, which was about my  problems with catsworld1 so I doubt you were looking for information on bloggers who’ve had problems with WordPress.  Too bad spambots aren’t more discriminating.  But then again, if they were, I’d lose a lot of blogging material.

“But, what concerning the conclusion? “ The conclusion?  I suppose I could say the conclusion is “and Cat blogged happily ever after in her new home, “anewcatsworld”.  I could, but that would just be sarcastic.  Accurate, but sarcastic.

“Are you certain about the supply?”  In a word, “yes”.  I would appear to have a guaranteed and never ending supply of topics, such as the idiocy of my local politicians, spam like yours and the mis-use of the English language.  So I would say the supply is assured.

It’s Friday and the last day of summer. Enjoy what is left of the summer and the work week and remember to hug an artist – we need love (and genuine compliments) too.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

